Association of International Marathons and Distance Races

The home of world running™


11 November 2013, 9am

Kipsang and Kiplagat winners of inaugural award

AIMS Best Marathon Runner Award Gala 2013


Wilson Kipsang and Edna Kiplagat were the inaugural male and female winners at the AIMS “BEST MARATHON RUNNER” (BMR) Award Gala held in Athens on Friday 8 November 2013.

The Gala was staged by AIMS in collaboration with the Hellenic Athletics Federation (SEGAS) and the Athens Classic Marathon and sponsored by the Patron of AIMS and ACM, OPAP S.A., the leading gaming operator in Greece.

The winners were determined in a vote of AIMS members and were revealed for the first time on the night (only the vote-teller was aware of the result before it was announced). Runners-up Stephen Kiprotich and Priscah Jeptoo were also in attendance.

Ingrid Kristiansen was presented with the AIMS Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of her pioneering role in the development of the Marathon Movement. She was fourth at the (inaugural) Los Angeles Olympic Marathon for women in 1984 and the following year set a world record (or “world best” as they were then called) of 2:21:06 in the London Marathon. She also won the London Marathon in 1984, 1987 and 1988. Her world record lasted 13 years, until Tegla Lorupe beat it by 19 seconds in Rotterdam in 1998.

The SuisseGas Milano Marathon received the inaugural AIMS Green Award. The award highlights good environmental practice in marathon events. Also shortlisted were Swedenâ’s GöteborgsVarvet Half Marathon and Germany’s BMW Frankfurt Marathon.
Great Ethiopian Run captured the inaugural AIMS Social Award. The award acclaims races working towards fulfilling the eight UN Millennium Development Goals, which include: eradicating extreme poverty and hunger; combatting disease; reducing child mortality; promoting gender equality and the empowerment of women; and ensuring environmental stability. Also shortlisted for the Award were Colombia’s Maraton de Las Flores Medellin and Algeria’s Sahara Marathon.

The purpose of the Gala is to:

  1. Announce and honour the best male and female Marathon runners of the year
  1. Recognise and honour exceptional Marathon figureheads and personalities for their contribution to the development of the Marathon movement through the Lifetime Achievement Award.
  1. Publicise and promote the best practice and initiatives of AIMS members (350+ race organisers in over 100 countries and territories) through the AIMS Green Award and the AIMS Social Award.


For further information on our partners, click on the logos above.

Distance Running

Official quarterly magazine of AIMS

Cover of 2024 Edition 1

Latest issue:
2024 Edition 1

Cover: Fjordkraft Bergen City Marathon, Norway

Keep up to date!

For the latest race dates please consult the official online AIMS calendar.

You can also subscribe to the AIMS calendar in your calendaring application of choice, whether on your phone, tablet or computer. Simply subscribe to webcal:// in your calendar app.

the home of world running™

AIMS Headquarters | OACA Olympic Complex | Av Spyros Louis, Athens, Greece | © AIMS 2024

Powered by Distance Running Limited